Français
XTRA CHAMBRE DE COMMERCE MTL ET ADM
7 TIPS FROM OUR EXPERTS
AT THE WORLD
TRADE CENTRE
MONTRÉAL

Even though there is a ton of economic data demonstrating the potential of the Chinese market, setting off to conquer China does not come without risks. It is not an easy market, especially for companies lacking international trade experience. Several companies that have been too hasty have learned this at their own expense. Every step in the process requires planning.

Here are 7 tips for maximizing your chances of success:

1
Have the time and
resources you require

Establishing a foothold in China and developing your presence on the market requires patience and determination. Sometimes, it can take two to three years for efforts to become profitable, and you need to be ready to invest the time and money required. Not only do you need to make several trips to China to establish your activities, taking part in several events and trade fairs is also a must in order to develop a network of contacts. In addition, you need to plan to hire an interpreter and employees, and adapt your promotional tools for the market.

2
Know the market
well

Does a market of over 1.3 billion people, with a middle class that could number 700 million by 2020, guarantee a clientele for your product? Not necessarily. The vastness of the market does not mean your products will find takers. China is made up of numerous distinct markets from one region to another. It is also preferable to adapt Western products to suit local tastes. Business information services, such as Info entrepreneurs, can provide data specific to your sector of activity.

3
Know where to get established

China is a huge country, and the area where you establish your business is a key factor. The advantages the Chinese government grants to foreign companies vary from one region to another. The majority of foreign firms are concentrated in certain regions, which creates a favourable economic environment, but also means fierce competition. Many smaller cities offer interesting growth rates and less competition. If you want to limit your risks, it is easier to establish a foothold in Hong Kong than in Mainland China, and it offers an excellent springboard to the rest of Asia.

4
Find
good partners

To successfully establish your business in China, you need to be on location and to have a good understanding of the culture and the way administrations function. You need to be able to rely on a trustworthy person who speaks the local language and who can build bridges between the two cultures. Several companies just starting out use the services of an agent who has a good knowledge of the field, standards, and laws. But take care: choosing a representative is a strategic challenge. Canadian and Quebec-based organizations in China can help you through their networks.

5
Maintain
good relations

Once relations have been established with clients and partners, it is important to maintain them by devoting time to them. The Chinese value face-to-face meetings, and relationships are built over the long term. It is important to become acquainted with local customs in order to avoid unfortunate situations. In the event of a conflict, the quality of your relationships could be the key to avoiding a crisis.

6
Protect your intellectual
property

A lack of respect for intellectual property is still one of the most important risks that companies face in China. The situation is improving, and the fact that Chinese companies are now pitted against one another on this issue is also helping. However, while the country currently has modern regulations, their application is not always up to scratch. The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service recommends having an intellectual property protection strategy that includes registering your patents, trademarks, or copyrights in China. You should also plan to have your agreements include measures such as arbitration in order to stay out of court, and have access to local representatives with a good knowledge of Chinese business practices.

7
Work with the
Chinese government

In a country in which the public administration is so important, government administrations and institutions must be seen as partners. Local Chinese governments and state owned enterprises can help you enter local distribution chains. It is important to have a good understanding of how they function and to cooperate with them to establish good relations. The central government creates numerous plans, and understanding their goals will allow you to determine which business opportunities to seize.

An initiative of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal and Aéroports de Montréal
Logo CCMM

English
XTRA CHAMBRE DE COMMERCE MTL ET ADM
7 CONSEILS DE NOS EXPERTS
DU WORLD
TRADE CENTRE
MONTRÉAL

Même s’il existe une avalanche de données économiques qui démontrent le potentiel du marché chinois, se lancer à la conquête de la Chine n’est pas sans risque. Ce n’est pas un marché facile, surtout pour les entreprises qui n’ont pas d’expérience en commerce international. Plusieurs entreprises trop pressées l’ont appris à leurs dépens. Toute démarche doit faire l’objet d’une planification.

Voici 7 conseils pour maximiser vos chances de réussite :

1
Avoir le temps et les
ressources nécessaires

S’implanter en Chine et y développer sa présence requièrent de la patience et de la détermination. Il faut souvent de deux à trois années avant que ces efforts deviennent rentables et il faut être prêt à investir le temps et l’argent nécessaires. Non seulement de nombreux voyages sur place sont essentiels pour y établir ses activités, mais la participation à plusieurs événements et salons est également un incontournable pour développer son réseau de contacts. De plus, il faut prévoir l’embauche d’un interprète et d’employés ainsi qu’une adaptation de ses outils promotionnels au marché.

2
Bien connaître
le marché

Un marché de plus de 1,3 milliard de personnes avec une classe moyenne qui pourrait en compter 700 millions d’ici 2020 garantit-il une clientèle pour votre produit? Pas nécessairement. L’immensité du marché ne signifie pas que vos produits vont trouver preneur. La Chine est en fait composée de nombreux marchés distincts d’une région à l’autre. De plus, il est préférable d’adapter les produits occidentaux aux goûts locaux. Des services d’information d’affaires tels qu’Info entrepreneurs peuvent vous fournir des données propres à votre secteur d’activité.

3
Savoir où s’installer

La Chine étant un pays immense, le lieu où votre entreprise s’implantera est un facteur déterminant. Les avantages consentis par le gouvernement chinois aux entreprises étrangères varient d’une région à l’autre. La majorité des entreprises étrangères sont concentrées dans certaines régions, ce qui crée un environnement économique favorable, mais également une compétition féroce. De nombreuses villes plus petites présentent un taux de croissance intéressant et la compétition y est réduite. Si vous souhaitez limiter les risques, il est plus facile d’établir une présence à Hong Kong qu’en Chine continentale et il s’agit d’un excellent tremplin vers le reste de l’Asie.

4
Trouver
de bons partenaires

Pour réussir votre implantation en Chine, il faut être sur place et bien comprendre la culture et le fonctionnement des administrations. Vous devez compter sur une personne digne de confiance qui parle la langue locale et qui peut faire le pont entre les cultures. Plusieurs entreprises qui débutent font appel aux services d’un agent qui a une bonne connaissance du terrain, des normes et des lois. Mais attention : le choix de votre représentant est un enjeu stratégique. Les organismes canadiens et québécois présents en Chine peuvent vous aider au moyen de leur réseau.

5
Entretenir
de bonnes relations

Une fois les relations établies avec des clients et des partenaires, il importe de les maintenir en leur consacrant du temps. Les Chinois valorisent les rencontres face à face et les relations se construisent sur le long terme. Il est important de se familiariser avec les coutumes locales afin d’éviter les situations fâcheuses. En cas de conflit, la qualité de vos relations pourrait s’avérer être la clé pour éviter une crise.

6
Protéger sa propriété
intellectuelle

Le non-respect de la propriété intellectuelle est encore un des risques les plus importants auxquels les entreprises font face en Chine. La situation s’améliore et le fait que des entreprises chinoises s’affrontent maintenant entre elles sur cette question y contribue. Cependant, si le pays dispose à présent de règlements modernes, leur application n’est pas toujours au point. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada recommande d’avoir une stratégie pour protéger votre propriété intellectuelle qui inclut l’enregistrement en Chine de vos brevets, de vos marques de commerce ou de vos droits d’auteur. Prévoyez également dans vos ententes des mesures telles que l’arbitrage afin d’éviter les tribunaux et ayez recours à des représentants locaux qui connaissent bien les pratiques commerciales chinoises.

7
Collaborer avec le
gouvernement chinois

Dans un pays où l’administration publique occupe une place aussi importante, les administrations et les institutions gouvernementales doivent être considérées comme des partenaires. Les gouvernements locaux chinois et les entreprises d’État peuvent vous aider à intégrer les chaînes de distribution locales. Il importe de bien comprendre leur fonctionnement et de coopérer avec eux pour établir de bonnes relations. Le gouvernement central crée de nombreux plans et bien comprendre leurs objectifs permet de déterminer les occasions d’affaires à saisir.

Une initiative de la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain en collaboration avec Aéroports de Montréal
Logo CCMM