Français
XTRA CHAMBRE DE COMMERCE MTL ET ADM
5 sectors
of the
future

The economic transition observed in China offers numerous business opportunities for exporters.

Here are a few examples of promising sectors:

1
Green Technology

Last autumn, China and the United States signed an agreement aiming to reduce their production of greenhouse gases. The agreement calls for a cap on emissions growth in China by 2030. Already grappling with serious pollution problems, the country has started to make massive investments in this field, and has committed to doubling its production of low-carbon energy and to encouraging environmentally friendly transportation. On a global scale, China is one of the countries that have seen the highest growth in green electricity production over the last few years.

2
Urban Development

When the country began to open up its economy in 1978, the rate of urbanization was 17%. It hit 52% in 2012 and has continued to grow. The urban population now exceeds 720 million inhabitants. In its 2014-2016 financing plan for China, the Asian Development Bank has devoted 29% of its budget to urban development and potable water management. The central government is further opening the door to public-private partnerships to finance new infrastructures, which is excellent news for companies in the areas of real estate, construction, engineering, and architecture.

3
Transportation

The transportation sector occupies an important place in the Chinese government’s 2014-2020 National Urbanization Plan. The Plan calls for cities of more than 200,000 inhabitants to be accessible by highway or rail. It also aims to link all cities of 500,000 inhabitants or more to the rapid train network.

4
Consumer Goods

As its population becomes more affluent, China is becoming an increasingly important consumer market. Salaries and the middle class are growing, thereby stimulating demand, notably for imported products, high-end goods, and specialized food items. In addition, in 2013, China became the largest market for online sales. The Chinese Department of Commerce has estimated online sales for 2014 to be 549 billion CAD, and has forecasted them to reach 1.25 trillion CAD in 2019.

5
Natural Resources
and Agriculture

Even though China has undertaken a transition towards more of a knowledge-based economy, the natural resources and agriculture sectors remain a priority. It is notably seeking to compensate for the fact that the population is increasingly moving towards cities by focusing on more modern machinery, which allows for productivity gains.

An initiative of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal and Aéroports de Montréal
Logo CCMM

English
XTRA CHAMBRE DE COMMERCE MTL ET ADM
5 secteurs
d’avenir

La transition économique observée en Chine présente de nombreuses occasions d’affaires pour les exportateurs.

Voici quelques exemples de secteurs prometteurs :

1
Les technologies vertes

L’automne dernier, la Chine et les États-Unis ont conclu un accord visant à diminuer leur production de gaz à effet de serre. L’entente prévoit que la croissance des émissions chinoises devra plafonner en 2030. Déjà aux prises avec de graves problèmes de pollution, le pays a commencé à investir massivement dans ce domaine et s’est engagé à plus que doubler sa production d’énergie à faible émission de carbone et à encourager le transport écologique. À l’échelle de la planète, la Chine est l’un des pays qui ont vu la plus forte croissance dans la production d’électricité verte au cours des dernières années.

2
Le développement urbain

Lorsque l’ouverture économique du pays a débuté en 1978, le taux d’urbanisation était de 17 %. Il a atteint 52 % en 2012 et continue de croître. La population urbaine dépasse maintenant les 720 millions d’habitants. Dans son plan de financement 2014-2016 pour la Chine, la Banque de développement asiatique consacre 29 % de son budget au développement urbain et à la gestion de l’eau potable. Le gouvernement central ouvre de plus en plus la porte aux partenariats public-privé pour financer les nouvelles infrastructures, ce qui constitue une excellente nouvelle pour les entreprises dans les domaines de l’immobilier, de la construction, du génie et de l’architecture.

3
Les transports

Le secteur des transports occupe une place importante dans le Plan national d’urbanisation 2014-2020 du gouvernement chinois. Le Plan prévoit que toutes les villes de plus de 200 000 habitants devront être accessibles par autoroute et chemin de fer. Il vise également à lier toutes les villes de 500 000 habitants ou plus au réseau de train rapide.

4
Les biens de consommation

À mesure que sa population s’enrichit, la Chine devient un marché de consommation de plus en plus important. Les salaires et la classe moyenne augmentent, stimulant ainsi la demande, notamment pour les produits importés, les produits haut de gamme et les produits alimentaires spécialisés. De plus, la Chine est devenue en 2013 le plus important marché de vente en ligne. Le ministère du Commerce de Chine évalue les ventes en ligne pour 2014 à 549 milliards CAD et prévoit qu’elles atteindront 1 250 milliards CAD en 2019.

5
Les ressources naturelles et l’agriculture

Même si la Chine a entrepris une transition vers une économie plus axée sur le savoir, les secteurs des ressources naturelles et de l’agriculture demeurent prioritaires. On souhaite notamment compenser le fait que la population se déplace de plus en plus vers les villes en misant sur une machinerie plus moderne, qui permet des gains de productivité.

Une initiative de la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain en collaboration avec Aéroports de Montréal
Logo CCMM