Français
XTRA CHAMBRE DE COMMERCE MTL ET ADM
Portraits of SMEs
Board of Trade
member companies that
have made the leap!
robert baril general director

TM4: Powering
China with Quebec technology

For TM4, a company well known for developing and building electric motors, China is a strategic market.

“The electrification of transportation plays an important role in the country’s five-year plan. Within two to three years, we estimate the number of electric buses sold to China per year will be 50,000, while the total number of all types of buses sold in Quebec in one year is only around 500", states Robert Baril, General Director of TM4.

After having started its process in 2010, TM4 made its initial contact with Prestolite Electric (Beijing) Limited, a leading supplier of electrical ‎machines for the heavy vehicle industry in China, during a trade mission in 2011. One year later, the two companies joined forces to establish Prestolite Electric Propulsion Systems (PEPS), a joint venture for the building of electric motorization systems for buses, trucks, heavy machinery, and water transportation.

"China is an exceptional commercial and technological showcase. By establishing operations in China, TM4 demonstrates that it is a player that must be taken seriously, and that can be successful everywhere."

Robert Baril

Taking advantage of Prestolite’s presence in the field, this joint venture has allowed TM4 to rapidly enter the Chinese supply chain. “We had the opportunity to be able to rely on a partner that was already familiar with working with Westerners, which made the process easier. However, we nevertheless had to overcome certain challenges, notably in terms of workforce training,” adds Mr. Baril. Extensive selection and on-site training was therefore necessary. Operating in the hi-tech field, TM4 also made sure to have a strategy to protect its intellectual property. So, even though the product is destined for the Chinese market, the company chose to keep certain strategic activities in Quebec, in order to maintain control.

While maintaining a presence in China is a constant challenge, the benefits warrant doing so. “China is an exceptional commercial and technological showcase. By establishing operations in China, TM4 demonstrates that it is a player that must be taken seriously, and that can be successful everywhere,” concludes Robert Baril.

Clyde Sharpe General Director

Elasto Proxy:
from importer
to exporter

In 2001, Elasto Proxy, a family business in the rubber and plastics industry, established its trade relationship with China. The country represented a source of raw materials at a reasonable cost, and the company began to get its supply in China for its factory in Boisbriand.

"Now the country is more of an interest to us as a client than as a supplier."

Clyde Sharpe

But today, Elasto Proxy’s interest in China has undergone a marked change, according to its General Manager, Clyde Sharpe. “Now the country is more of an interest to us as a client than as a supplier,” he states. While the company imports fewer and fewer products from China, it has been exporting several to the country since 2010.

Exporting rubber and plastic parts to Asia from Quebec may seem surprising. But while Chinese companies active in the field specialize in mass production, Elasto Proxy distinguishes itself by supplying high-quality rubber and plastic components in small volumes. “Since joining the WTO, China has undergone a lot of change and its domestic market has exploded. We’re seeing an ever-increasing demand for quality, custom-made products, creating a niche market that is allowing our company to enter Chinese supply chains,” explains Mr. Sharpe

"We had to do a lot of research and gain access to specialized databases to prepare our plan."

Clyde Sharpe

However, even though the company was already importing raw material from China, selling on the Chinese market required a number of steps. “We had to do a lot of research and gain access to specialized databases to prepare our plan. Once we were ready, we took part in a trade mission, recruited an agent on-site, and went to several events,” adds Mr. Sharpe. But the effort was worth it. China now occupies an important position in the company’s future plans. It hopes to soon open a warehouse in China and to stock goods in the country in order to speed up service to its clients. Once this step is complete, Elasto Proxy even intends to use its presence in China as a springboard to other Asian countries.

Image provided by TM4

Image provided by TM4

Image provided by TM4

Image provided by Elasto Proxy

Image provided by Elastro Proxy

Image provided by Elastro Proxy

An initiative of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal and Aéroports de Montréal
Logo CCMM

English
XTRA CHAMBRE DE COMMERCE MTL ET ADM
Portraits de PME
Des entreprises
membres de la Chambre qui ont
fait le saut!
robert baril directeur général

TM4 : propulser
la Chine avec une technologie québécoise

Pour TM4, une entreprise reconnue dans le développement et la fabrication de moteurs électriques, la Chine représente un marché stratégique.

« L’électrification des transports occupe une place importante dans le plan quinquennal du pays. D’ici deux à trois ans, nous estimons à 50 000 le nombre d’autobus électriques vendus par année en Chine alors que le nombre total d’autobus, tous types confondus, vendus au Québec en une année se situe plutôt autour de 500 », déclare Robert Baril, directeur général de TM4.

Après avoir entamé ses démarches en 2010, TM4 établit un premier contact avec Prestolite Electric (Beijing) Limited, un leader en fourniture de ‎machines électriques pour l’industrie des véhicules lourds en Chine, lors d’une mission commerciale en 2011. Un an plus tard, les deux entreprises s’associent pour établir Prestolite Electric Propulsion Systems (PEPS), une coentreprise de fabrication de systèmes de motorisation électrique pour autobus, camions, machinerie lourde et transport sur l’eau.

« La Chine est une vitrine commerciale et technologique exceptionnelle. En s’implantant en Chine, TM4 démontre qu’elle devient un acteur à prendre au sérieux et capable de réussir partout. »

Robert Baril

Profitant de la présence de Prestolite sur le terrain, cette coentreprise a permis à TM4 d’intégrer rapidement la chaîne d’approvisionnement chinoise. « Nous avons eu la chance de compter sur un partenaire qui avait déjà l’habitude de travailler avec des Occidentaux, ce qui a facilité les démarches. Cependant, nous avons quand même eu à surmonter certains défis, notamment en matière de formation de la main-d’œuvre », ajoute M. Baril. Un important travail de sélection et de formation sur place a donc été nécessaire. Œuvrant dans la haute technologie, TM4 s’est également dotée d’une stratégie pour protéger sa propriété intellectuelle. Ainsi, même lorsque le produit est destiné au marché chinois, l’entreprise a choisi de conserver certaines activités jugées stratégiques au Québec, afin d’en maintenir le contrôle.

Même si une présence en Chine représente un défi constant, les retombées le justifient. « La Chine est une vitrine commerciale et technologique exceptionnelle. En s’implantant en Chine, TM4 démontre qu’elle devient un acteur à prendre au sérieux et capable de réussir partout », conclut Robert Baril.

Clyde Sharpe Directeur général

Elasto Proxy :
d’importateur à
exportateur

En 2001, Elasto Proxy, une entreprise familiale du secteur du caoutchouc et des matières plastiques, a amorcé ses relations commerciales avec la Chine. Le pays représentait alors une source de matières premières à coût raisonnable et l’entreprise a commencé à s’y approvisionner pour son usine de Boisbriand.

« C’est maintenant plus à titre de client que de fournisseur que ce pays nous intéresse. »

Clyde Sharpe

Mais aujourd’hui, l’intérêt d’Elasto Proxy pour la Chine a beaucoup changé selon Clyde Sharpe, son directeur général. « C’est maintenant plus à titre de client que de fournisseur que ce pays nous intéresse », précise-t-il. Alors que l’entreprise importe de moins en moins de produits de Chine, elle y en exporte plusieurs depuis 2010.

Exporter des pièces de caoutchouc et de plastique en Asie à partir du Québec peut paraître étonnant. Mais alors que les entreprises chinoises actives dans le domaine se spécialisent dans la production de masse, Elasto Proxy se distingue en fournissant des composantes de caoutchouc et de plastique de haute qualité et à faible volume. « Depuis son adhésion à l’OMC, la Chine s’est beaucoup transformée et le marché intérieur a explosé. Nous observons une demande pour des produits de qualité et sur mesure qui ne cesse d’augmenter, créant un marché de niche qui permet à notre entreprise d’intégrer les chaînes d’approvisionnement chinoises », explique M. Sharpe.

« Il a fallu faire beaucoup de recherche et accéder à des bases de données spécialisées pour préparer notre plan. »

Clyde Sharpe

Cependant, même si l’entreprise importait déjà de la matière première de Chine, vendre sur le marché chinois a nécessité plusieurs démarches. « Il a fallu faire beaucoup de recherche et accéder à des bases de données spécialisées pour préparer notre plan. Une fois prêts, nous avons participé à une mission commerciale, recruté un agent sur place et participé à plusieurs événements », ajoute M. Sharpe. Mais les efforts en valent la peine. La Chine occupe maintenant une place importante dans les plans d’avenir de l’entreprise. Elle souhaite y ouvrir prochainement un entrepôt et y tenir un stock de marchandises afin d’accélérer le service auprès de ses clients. Une fois cette étape franchie, Elasto Proxy compte même utiliser sa présence en Chine comme tremplin vers d’autres pays d’Asie.

CCMM-05-03-img01 : Image fournie par TM4

CCMM-05-03-img02 : Image fournie par TM4

CCMM-05-03-img03 : Image fournie par TM4

CCMM-05-05-img01 : Image fournie par Elastro Proxy

CCMM-05-05-img02 : Image fournie par Elastro Proxy

CCMM-05-05-img03 : Image fournie par Elastro Proxy

Une initiative de la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain en collaboration avec Aéroports de Montréal
Logo CCMM